About Us

We just celebrated our 72nd year of outstanding tradition.

You can enjoy all that, and more - Dancing, Entertainment, Bridge, Swimming, Health and Fitness Center and, of course, boating and fishing - at the Pelican Yacht Club.

Founded in 1946 by Frank Rowell and Robert Gladwin, with land and buildings purchased from the U.S. Navy, and with generous donations of labor and materials from members and local businesses, the Club caters to the boating and fishing interests of its members.

A swimming pool, new dining room, and other facilities were added over the next two decades. Then, after a devastating fire in 1988, the club was completely rebuilt. In January, 1993, Pelican became an equity ownership club.

Today it offers an elegant, world-class Clubhouse in an unrivalled location on the Fort Pierce Inlet from the Atlantic Ocean. From a dining perspective, enjoy excellent cuisine in a beautiful and spacious dining room that affords a view of spectacular sunsets over the Indian River Lagoon. Of course, the desirable inlet location allows the club a superb Marina and boating facilities. Swimming, Tennis, Health & Fitness facilities and many social events and entertainment are also available.

Pelican Yacht Club is an Equity (Member Owned) Private Yacht Club and home to the Treasure Coast Sailfish Championship and the 39th Invitational Billfish Tournament.


2018 Flagship Officers 
Commodore- Craig Francisco 
Vice Commodore - Nick Ewen
Rear Commodore - Steve Hoskins
Past Commodore -Klip Kluppelberg
Secretary- June Ann Degraw
Treasurer- Karl Guettler
Committee Assignments 

Committee Chairs & Meeting Dates 
House Committee 
(1st Wednesday of month at noon) 
Chair: Nick Ewen

Chair: David Richeson

Health and Fitness Committee 
(3rd Friday of month at noon) 
Chair: Karen Cashen

Selection Committee
(3rd Thursday of month at noon) 
Chair: Steve Hoskins

Past Commodore Committee 
(2nd Wednesday of month at noon) 
Chair: Klip Kluppelberg


2018 Board of Directors
Joey Trefelner 

Karen Cashen

David Richeson

Gail Flesche

Peter Tyson 

Steve Hoskins 

 Fleet Committee
(4th Wednesday of month at 5:00pm) 
Chair: Peter Tyson

Long-Range Planning Committee
Chair: Daniel Fuller

Entertainment Committee
(2nd Wednesday of month at 4:30pm) 
Chair: June Ann Degraw

Finance Committee

(4th Wednesday of month at noon) 
Chair: Karl Guettler 

Women's Auxiliary Liaison (ongoing) 
Gail Flesche 

Building and Grounds 
Craig Francisco